This query has been raised to me a few times so I thought it would make a useful post. After changing the Project Owner this user will not automatically synchronise and get access to the Project Site that they now own. You will need to force a synchronisation in Server Settings > Project Sites select the site and click the synchronise button.
Now you will see the new Project Owner appear on the Project Site with the Project Managers (Microsoft Project Server) permission level. A walk through example to show this can be seen below.
The current owner of Proj1 is myself as seen below:
The users currently with access to the Proj1 Project Site are as follows:
I will now change the owner to Dave then save the changes and publish Proj1
In this example you will see that Dave still doesn’t have access to the project site for the project he now owns, to get Dave access to the project site the site users need to be synchronised. To do this navigate to PWA > Server Settings > Project Sites and select Proj1 then click the Synchronize button to synchronise the project site users and permissions.
You should then see a successful job in the Project Server queue for Project Site Membership Synchronization as shown below:
Now if you look at the site permissions for Proj1 you will see that Dave (Support\userw) now has access with the Project Managers (Microsoft Project Server) permission level.